India join the Festival of Hockey for 2015!

By | February 18, 2015

Final team confirmed for Hawke’s Bay Festival of Hockey

india blog post


India will complete the lineup for the 2015 Hawke’s Bay Festival of Hockey women’s tournament to be held in Hastings in April.

Event Director David Nancarrow says “The inaugural event in 2014 included 6 international teams, but the vision was always to expand to 8 teams this year. Hockey NZ and the tournament organisers, HBSEEC, are delighted that India has agreed to come “downunder” in 2015.”

David Nancarrow added “India is ranked 13th in the world but importantly the sport is second only to cricket in public interest in India. This is an exciting development for the Festival of Hockey as it opens up a huge new audience of passionate Hockey fans.”

“The 6 teams that attended the event last year have given the tournament a big tick of approval, as they have all committed to returning this year. With the addition of the USA and India, the tournament is now truly global.”

World hockey’s governing body – the FIH – has further reinforced the international importance of this tournament with the appointment of leading international referees and officials from England, Singapore, Malaysia, the Netherlands and Fiji to attend the 2015 Festival of Hockey.

Alongside the international event, the Festival will again incorporate an affiliates tournament (7th – 11th April), which will include 12 teams. The quality of the competition at this event steps up a notch this year with the inclusion of the Hong Kong men’s and women’s teams. The Furnware Cup (16th – 19th April) will be played between 8 schoolgirl teams including five from Hawke’s Bay and three from outside the region. 80 games of hockey will be played over 13 days with 28 teams participating.


The eight international teams competing in the Hawke’s Bay Cup international tournament from the 11th – 19th April are:


  • Australia (World ranking 2nd)
  • Argentina   (3rd)
  • New Zealand    (4th)
  • China    (5th)
  • U.S.A.    (8th)
  • Korea    (9th)
  • Japan    (10th)
  • India      (13th)


Matches at the Festival of Hockey will be hosted at both the Regional Sports Park in Hastings and Park Island in Napier.


For Tickets and further Festival information go to

The Hawke’s Bay Festival of Hockey is a collaboration between Hockey NZ and Hawke’s Bay Sports Events and Entertainment Consortium (HBSEEC).


Photo attached (Credit – Jay Hughes)

  • Indian women’s team playing at Park Island, Napier

Contact: Emily Naylor

Hawke’s Bay Festival of Hockey   MOB 021 02912608